Return to Headlines

Students Recognized for Academic Achievement at Grades 7-12 Awards Ceremony

The annual Grades 7-12 Awards Ceremony, which recognizes the academic achievements of students during the school year, was held on June 6.

In addition to the academic achievement and special awards, students who completed one or more College Now courses were awarded a certificate from Herkimer College. Awards were also given for most outstanding effort, and the National Honor Society and National Junior Honor Society inductees were recognized.

The students who have been selected to attend the eighth grade Odyssey trip, Brett Clements and Clark Young, were also announced. They will be traveling to the Adirondacks for 10 days of canoeing and backpacking.

Roberta Shaefer-Gilbert and Jaiden Gee were selected to participate in the Outward Bound program, and they will be traveling to Maine for three weeks over the summer for outdoor adventures. Outward Bound and the Odyssey trip are both funded by The Clark Foundation.

The following students also received awards:

Air Force Recruiting Service Award: Owen Cline

United States Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award: Jayce Horender

The Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence: Holly Malinowski

RIT Innovation and Creativity Award: Beth Snyder

21st Century Leadership Award: Julie Smith

RPI (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute) Award: Orion Hazelton.

Sage Colleges 2019 Student Sage Recognition Nomination: Raynella Clarke, Hannah Elkins

LeMoyne Heights Award: Isabella Hudziak

St. Lawrence University Book Award: Isabella Hudziak

Clarkson University Leadership Award: Holly Malinowski

The Clarkson University Achievement Award: Hannah Elkins

University of Rochester Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award and Scholarship: Jayce Horender

University of Rochester Frederick Douglass & Susan B. Anthony Scholarship: Victoria L. Graml

University of Rochester George Eastman Young Leader Award: Victor Gelfuso

Elmira College Key Award: Isabella Hudziak

The Daughters of the American Revolution Award: Laken Dyn, Maura Buck

AAA Driver Education Award: Sierra Nassimos

Outstanding Citizen Award:

Seventh Grade: Carson Seamon

Eighth Grade: Clay Bobnick

Ninth Grade: Molly Bobnick

Tenth Grade: Cole Bobnick

Eleventh Grade: Holly Malinowski

Twelfth Grade: Jedediah Panko

Principal's Award: 

Seventh Grade: Rylie Chenel, Laken Dyn

Eighth Grade: Kalen Barnhart, Emily Diotte, Lauren Johnson, Margaret Worobey

Ninth Grade: Isabel Martinez, Roberta Schaefer-Gilbert

Tenth Grade: Sydney Burdick

Eleventh Grade: Orion Hazelton, Isabella Hudziak

Twelfth Grade: Jacob Calta, Jedediah Panko


The following teacher was also awarded:

Student Council Senior Selection Teacher of the Year Award: Mr. Kyle Hudgiak


Congratulations to everyone who received an award!